GK Questions On SAARC Summits

GK Questions On SAARC Summits
SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Corporation) is an organization of eight countries located in the South Asia. Initial members of the SAARC countries  were  India, Bangladesh, Pakistan,  Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives   and Sri Lanka.  Later  another country Afghanistan was awarded the full membership and there are several other  countries were given observer memberships.  3% of the area of the world is represented by SAARC countries. It is  around  1.7 billion of the  people  and it is  21% of the  world population. Following are some facts points about SAARC. These points which are very useful as a GK questions on SAARC and SAARC Summits asked on SSC, Bank PO, UPSC and various other competitive exams.

  • SAARC stands for  the South Asian Association for Regional Corporation.
  • SAARC was founded in Dhaka in 8 December 1985.
  • Eight members of the SAARC countries are India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives,Sri Lanka and Afghanistan
  • The idea for the SAARC was proposed by Ziaur Rahman the President of Bangladesh on 2 May 1980.
  • The first SAARC summit was held in Dhaka on 7–8 December 1985 and hosted by the President of Bangladesh Hussain Ershad.
  • Nine countries as Observer member of SAARC are Australia, China, the European Union, Iran, Japan, Mauritius, Myanmar, South Korea and United States.
  • The SAARC Secretariat was established on 16 January 1987 in Kathmandu and was inaugurated by Late King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah of Nepal.
  • First Secretary General of SAARC Abul Ahsan of Bangladesh was appointed on 16 Jan 1985.
  • Current Secretary General of SAARC is Arjun Bahadur Thapa from Nepal.
  • Total summits of SAARC upto now is 18.
  • Last SAARC Summits ie 18th was held in Kathmandu Nepal in 26-27 Nov 2014
  • 19th SAARC Summits will held at  Islamabad and Murree (Pakistan) on 9–10 November 2016